A Veterans' Champion is an elected member of the council with an interest in the Armed Forces Community.  There are 11 local councils in Northern Ireland and every one has a Veterans’ Champion.  You can find the designated Veterans’ Champion in your area detailed below   

Local Veterans’ Champions have a good knowledge of local services and are a first point of contact for Veterans who need information, signposting, or referral to the VSO.  Veterans' Champions can also identify and advise local charities or Community Interest Companies who may be eligible to apply for funding from the Armed Forces Covenant Fund Trust.   

Details of current local council Veterans' Champions

Armagh, Banbridge, & Craigavon Borough
Alderman Glenn Barr
glenn.barr@armaghbanbridgecraigavon.gov.uk

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough
Alderman Daniel Kinahan
danny.kinahan@antrimandnewtownabbey.gov.uk

Mid and East Antrim Borough.
Alderman John Carson
ald.carson@midandeastantrim.gov.uk
Ards and North Down Borough
Alderman Bill Keery
bill.keery@ardsandnorthdown.gov.uk

Belfast City
Alderman Guy Spence
spenceg@belfastcity.gov.uk

Causeway Coast and Glens Borough
Cllr Michelle Knight-McQuillan
Derry City and Strabane
Alderman Ryan McCready
ryan.mccready@derrystrabane.com
Fermanagh and Omagh
Cllr Bert Wilson
bert.wilson@fermanaghomagh.com
Newry, Mourne, and Down
Cllr Glyn Hanna
glyn.hanna@nmandd.org
Lisburn and Castlereagh City
Alderman James Tinsley
James.tinsley@lisburncastlereagh.gov.uk
Mid Ulster
Cllr Mark Glasgow
mark.glasgow@midulstercouncil.org

If any of the details on this page are incorrect, please contact us