A Veterans' Champion is an elected member of the council with an interest in the Armed Forces Community.  There are 11 local councils in Northern Ireland and every one has a Veterans’ Champion.  You can find the designated Veterans’ Champion in your area detailed below   

Local Veterans’ Champions have a good knowledge of local services and are a first point of contact for Veterans who need information, signposting, or referral to the VSO.  Veterans' Champions can also identify and advise local charities or Community Interest Companies who may be eligible to apply for funding from the Armed Forces Covenant Fund Trust.   

Details of current local council Veterans' Champions

Armagh, Banbridge, & Craigavon Borough
Alderman Glenn Barr

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough
Councillor Paul Michael BEM

Mid and East Antrim Borough.
Alderman John Carson
Ards and North Down Borough
Alderman Bill Keery

Belfast City
Councillor Dale Pankhurst

Causeway Coast and Glens Borough
Cllr Michelle Knight-McQuillan
Derry City and Strabane
Alderman Ryan McCready
Fermanagh and Omagh
Cllr Bert Wilson
Newry, Mourne, and Down
Cllr Kathryn Owen
Lisburn and Castlereagh City
Alderman James Tinsley
Mid Ulster
Cllr Wesley Brown

If any of the details on this page are incorrect, please contact us